Week 25: Miracles this Week

Well first off I want to say, “WELCOME to the family Matthew! And congratulations to you both!” I am so happy for you. Now I realized last night that I don’t even know where you two went on your honeymoon! Somebody please fill me in!! I am so happy for you and I saw one picture and you look SO AMAZING!!!! Goodness, what a good looking couple. I hope it was a day of dreams come true…Love you both.

Well, Thursday was a good day for me too actually! I had my second lesson on Thursday with L. the young, married mother I contacted a couple weeks ago… and Guess what? She accepted a baptismal date for Oct 22nd!!!! I am SO excited for her and so happy! She is really the coolest, sweetest, most down to earth girl ever! We are already great friends and I hope and pray she keeps moving forward. I know we still have a lot to teach her and there may be problems in the future with some things, but I am So happy and Thursday night was the happiest for me. I know that Heavenly Father blessed me with that because I was on cloud nine. It was hard to even be sad I was missing the wedding because I felt so much joy for L. I just adore her so much.

Last week we played sand volleyball with our district and it was so much fun. We all laughed at how white we all are and it’s the end of the summer. But I think my foot shoe tan lines are funny. It lets me know I’ve been working! haha. Afterward we explored one of Latvia’s beautiful forests and looked for wild blueberries and raspberries that grow everywhere!!  Elder Brabazon goes home this week. We’re all sad to loose him. He’s a great missionary, but he is passing off his investigator A. (who has a baptismal date for Sept 8th) to me. I am nervous because she has lots of concerns but she is awesome. I am excited to teach her and become friends with her.

Can you believe I hit my 6 month mark!? I cannot. Time has gone fast I tell you. I am grateful I still have a year. I love being a missionary so much. I love everything about it. (Even the hard days– because I learn a lot from them). I had a wonderful moment last week. I had a lesson with a member and after the lesson was over I realized how easy the language had been for me in the lesson. Sometimes it’s easier than other times. When I realize how it comes so freely sometimes it makes my whole world glow with happiness. I love Latvian so much and I am so excited to keep learning and getting better at it. I have a long way to go. I know I couldn’t have learned it at all with out my Heavenly Father’s help. I can’t thank him enough for the blessings and the help he is giving me.

I had a wonderful/sad moment this week. I was waiting for a bus and there was a homeless man in a wheel chair with only one leg. He was obviously drunk and was passed out. But when I looked at him, I didn’t see any of that. I truly saw a child of God. Tears filled my eyes as he really transformed into what he really could be one day– A celestial being! I have felt things like that lately. That experience was very real. I was grateful that God let me see that man’s divine potential. Since then I have realized that EVERYONE I see has that same potential and my love for everyone has grown. I didn’t even know that was possible.

It was Riga’s 811 Birthday this weekend so all the buses were free on Saturday and Sunday. Man, they were ALWAYS so packed with all sorts of people. I met and had to handle way too many drunk people. But now I have numbers to give the elders. 🙂 haha.

We had so many miracles happen this week. We had lots of random street and knocking lessons and we were able to give away 3 book of Mormons in one day and get their numbers. It was so great.

I gave a talk in sacrament meeting this past Sunday. I talked about what a testimony really is and how we gain one. It was an interesting topic for me to study and I learned a lot how to help my investigators develop one and what they need to do. It’s amazing how you always learn so much more preparing the talk than people do hearing it.

Latvia is infested with cockroaches. I never knew it until this past transfer. We have found lots in our house (we spent hours deep cleaning it today) Yesterday I went to find a less active from the Latvian branch in these old apartments. She was older and a bit crazy to be honest. She didn’t really remember much about the church… there were cockroaches swarming the place. There were at least 20 on the walls and she handed me a picture and about 8 cockroaches swarmed all over it. I almost dropped it because I did not want them to get on me, but I held on tight. I wish I could help somehow and get rid of those little creatures. yuck yuck.

Over all it was an amazing week! Transfers come tomorrow, but I already know I am staying in Imanta so I am so happy about that! (I know because Elder Brabazon said he wanted to pass A. over to me if I was staying in Imanta and he was going to ask pres Boswell… and what do you know he passed her over to me so 1+1=2 and I am staying in Imanta! woo!)

I love you all so much and I am grateful for your prayers! I need them and I am praying for all of you! I hope you all danced the night away at the wedding! I did a little dance to the Mormon Tabernacle Choir Thursday night in remembrance of you all! My companion thought it was hilarious and so did I. haha! I LOVE YOU ALL!!!!

-masa Gallagera

Leave a Reply

Send me a Letter:

Baltic Mission Sister Madison Gallacher Cesu iela 31-2K2 Riga LV -1012 Latvia, Europe For dearelders.com and pouch mail: Baltic Mission POB 30150 Salt Lake City 84130-0150

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

