Week 42: “Do unto others what you would have them do unto you”

Hello family!
Well you’re right! It’s freeeeeezing here!! There was a huge storm on the ocean I guess and Riga has been feeling the wind from that. It’s been so windy and the wind is very biting, but I just pull everything over my face! haha. We have lots of snow too.

Let’s see, update on investigators.
Vasis: is my best friend! I love that guy so much! He came to church yesterday and liked it a lot. He could only stay for sacrament meeting though, however things are really moving forward with him. I sat by him at church and my little friend Ieva (she’s 9/10) sat next to me. After, Vasis told me I’d be a terribly good grandma) hahahahah I love it. Can’t wait to be one some day!

So our investigator Dzintars accepted a baptismal date for Dec 29th! It’s only 2 weeks away and we have everything to teach him. If we can make this date it will be a miracle. We want 14+ baptisms this month and I hope so badly we can help Dzintars make it on that date!! We are so very excited for him!

Iveta got baptized this last Saturday! She has been coming to church and family home evening with the YSA (Young Single Adults) for 5 months now. She wasn’t really interested, but then a couple weeks ago (at another baptism) I was walking with her and she said, “I want to be baptized!! I went to another church and I could feel the difference!” So she was committed at that baptism and she entered the waters of her own baptism a couple weeks later! So happy for her!!

Guess where I was on Thursday and Friday?? LIEPIJA!!! Yes the sisters got to do the once-a-year (haha) exchange! It was so fun to see Liepija during Christmas. There were lights everywhere!!! The ocean is pretty and there is so much snow there! I will send you some pictures!

I read the verse that says, “Do unto others what you would have them do unto you” this last week and it hit me harder than it ever has before. I have always known what that means, but I don’t think I have actually tried to live by it completely. I have made it a goal to really live by that. It’s interesting to take every situation and turn it around. I have to first put myself in their shoes and then think how I would want to be treated or what I would need. And then reverse that and do just that for them! It’s been fun and I realize I find more ways to serve by thinking more this way. It’s a simple thing I’ve heard my whole life but it’s different when I am focusing so much on it. It’s helped me a lot to turn outwards and forget about myself.

Well that’s about it for this week. Dad I got your talk! It was wonderful! And amazing and I loved it so much! Thank you for sharing! And yes, I get your dearelders and I love them so much! I still don’t know about skyping because I might be transferred this Thursday. But I will for sure tell you next Monday… the day before Christmas… haha Sorry it’s such late notice. It’s hard to get it all figured out with so many missionaries!

I love you all so much! Have a wonderful day and week!!!
-Masa Galagera

Masa G and companion and the 'bunny kingdom'

Masa G and companion and the ‘bunny kingdom’

IMG_0759 IMG_0740

Leave a Reply

Send me a Letter:

Baltic Mission Sister Madison Gallacher Cesu iela 31-2K2 Riga LV -1012 Latvia, Europe For dearelders.com and pouch mail: Baltic Mission POB 30150 Salt Lake City 84130-0150

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

