Week 51: Week full of Miracles

Hello Sveiki, hello!

I sure hope that you had a good week! We had a wonderful week full of miracles!

Miracle 1: Guess who showed up at church? VASIS!!! It was crazy! It was during the sacrament and our investigator from Nigeria called us because he couldn’t find it so I waited until the sacrament was over and I walked out with my comps to call Eric back. Then the door opened and some stranger walked in. I didn’t even recognize him because Vasis had shaved his beard! (he had a huge Santa Clause beard the whole time I taught him) I took a double look and sure enough it was Vasis with a shaven face and a hair cut! No more wispy white hair all over his face and head. He looked very clean cut. I looked at him and then I smiled and he started laughing.  I was so happy to see him!

After Sacrament meeting we went to Sunday school and after that ended I said, “Vasis! What made you want to come to church today?” He said, ” Something told me last night that this is where I needed to be today. I had to come. That is what YOU would call the Holy Ghost I guess. The thing is, I see a light in you, in the people here. It is in your eyes! I have looked for it ever since our last meeting in other places and other people. I can’t find it anywhere but here. There is a place inside of each person that needs to be filled. If you don’t fill it with good things it will be filled with bad things. I wanted to fill it with good things so I came to church today because I knew I needed too.”

well I was in shock. I told him I was happy to see him here and asked him if he had been reading the Book of Mormon. He said, “yes, I am almost done with it.” What? Miracle! The thing is he has a hard time with all of the wars in the book and can’t always look past that to find the lessons within. So I grabbed a member and asked her why she liked to read the Book of Mormon. She started explaining and then his phone rang and he had to get it. So he walked out and then Relief Society started and I thought he went to Priesthood meeting. Turns out he didn’t, but I called him after church and with the advice from my leaders we are going to meet with him this week at least just one more time to see how he’s feeling about things. I am not thinking that he is going to accept to get baptized yet because I still know all of his doubts, but I know that he knows there is something here so my hope for him for the future has sky-rocketed. I know one day he will accept this. Even if he still isn’t ready. I think it will be good to at least point out what this light is and talk about how he can get it, and how he can fill that space in his heart with good things. But the good ol’ (actually younger than I had realized now with out the beard) Vasmeister is back for at least one lesson this week.

Miracle 2: Dzintars is doing awesome! He is already doing missionary work and had us meet with his cousin. His cousin has some disabilities and doesn’t have the use of his legs. He has a clear brain and has already been reading the Book of Mormon and had amazing reading comprehension. I am not sure what will happen with him since he really is bed ridden and he is hard to understand. But Dzinatrs is just glowing with the new convert glow and wants to share it with everyone. Also he is a really good painter and he painted Sister Clark and I our own paintings. He painted me a scene of Hallstatt, Austria actually because one time he showed me a picture of it and I said, “is that Hallstatt?” and it was! I remembered what it looked like from my childhood because it still remains to be one of my favorite places in the world! So he surprised me with a rather large painting of the lake and some boats and houses on the shore. He’s a sweetie and the branch president wants him to paint some things for the church building here! And Dzintars couldn’t be more honored

Miracle 3: We had such an amazing week of contacting! We worked really hard at reaching our goals every single day and we prayed and worked so hard and the Lord really blessed us. One of the biggest miracles was Friday Night. We had planned to get 2 other lessons and we had already gotten 3 that day! But, the one goal we hadn’t reached was a new investigator. So we had about 40- min to contact before we had to go home. We were determined to get a new investigator. We had been praying all day to reach our goals. Then we stopped and Sister Kerr said, “OK we have about 10 minutes left to find an investigator. Whom should we talk to?” I looked around and saw a young guy standing at a bus stop among other people. I saw him and it was clear. We needed to talk to HIM. So I pointed and said, “him” and we set off knowing that he really was the last chance we had to teach a lesson and set up another appointment in order for him to be a new investigator. So we talked, and he only spoke Russian. Our spirits almost dropped until we tried English with him. He understood enough English for us to teach a short lesson about the Book of Mormon and Prophets and he said that he had time to meet on Tuesday if we did. MIRACLE!!!

God really blessed us to make all of our goals that day and I was thankful for that experience. Most of your goals should be reached most of the time. My faith in goals and doing everything you can to reach them every day was strengthened a lot this week. I am excited to make my goals every day!

Oh, last Preparation day I suggested we play games as a District, so we played the “Name game” the one we used to play a lot as a family where we all write names on papers and we have the three rounds where the 2 teams have to guess what person we got… etc… we loved it and had so much fun and everyone wants to play it again this week! It reminded me of all of our good ol’ family game nights!

Also one of our English students gave us flowers on Valentines Day and they were daffodils!! That was the first time I had ever seen my favorite flower in Latvia and it sure made my day!!

Well I must be off. I love you all lots and I hope you have a wonderful week!

Love,

Masa Maddie

This says, "I'm a cute white wall" haha

This says, “I’m a cute white wall” haha

Riga billboard

Riga billboard

Monument

Monument

This is done by the famous spraypainter SAKI in Riga haha

This is done by the famous spraypainter SAKI in Riga haha

a traditional Latvian meal

a traditional Latvian meal

The missionaries playing the name game

The missionaries playing the name game

Game time

Game time

Dzintar's paintings for us!

Dzintar’s paintings for us!

A funny Candy bar here

A funny Candy bar here

Riga City

Riga City

 

Leave a Reply

Send me a Letter:

Baltic Mission Sister Madison Gallacher Cesu iela 31-2K2 Riga LV -1012 Latvia, Europe For dearelders.com and pouch mail: Baltic Mission POB 30150 Salt Lake City 84130-0150

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

