Week 62: What does my Heavenly Father think of me?

Oh boy, I have had an intense time reading all of your e-mails! Cami, your story of your whole house leaking water everywhere seems intense and exasperating. Also Mom and Caye! What an amazing and incredible story of the spirit speaking to you and warning you of danger! I am so grateful he did and that you are both okay!

 

Well let’s see…the CES couple (the Davis’s) have left and we have a new couple in their place the Viresmontes (?) have arrived. They are equally amazing and so happy and ready to serve. I just love it. Senior couples really are the BEST. Sister Adams the sweetest senior missionary ever bore her testimony on Sunday and literally made the whole branch break into tears. It was quite a special moment. I love them all!

 

MIRACLE of the week! You probably don’t remember…. but a while back I had an investigator named Inara. She was the one back in September who I found in the area book and felt like I should call her right then even though it was like 8:55pm, and we were about to start planning. Well I called and she came to church the next day. We started meeting but she just got too busy and couldn’t ever make it to our meetings. Since way back last year I have kept in contact with her calling her every once in a while to see how she is doing and to invite her to things. So I called her the other day and she said that she couldn’t make it to FHE but she wanted to meet with us. On Tuesday we had a meeting and we weren’t really sure what to teach so we decided to teach on the Holy Ghost. Tuesday arrived and she CAME! We started our lesson and it just didn’t feel right. So I looked at sister Peterson and kind of hinted that we would go into the restoration instead… but as soon as I started that it felt wrong.

Inara was talking about school and work and I was sitting there praying saying, “Heavenly Father… I literally have NO idea what to teach. Nothing feels right. Every time I open my mouth I feel like I have no words to say. Please tell me what to say and what to teach!”

Well not a second later I heard myself saying, “You know, Baptism is really important.” I as shocked and not sure what to say next, but I didn’t need to say anything because Inara took over and said, “I know. I want to be baptized. I have thought about it a lot.” So I followed the spirit and invited her to be baptized on May 25th and she accepted!!! She got out her planner and said, “I have to write it down because if you write a goal down it will happen, but if you don’t it won’t.” I smiled and agreed and we made the plans to make it happen. At the end she told us thank you for never forgetting about her and for continuing to call even though she would skip lessons and was always busy. It meant so much to hear that because I sometimes wonder if the things I do amount to anything. I have tried to meet with her and invite her to things and keep in touch with her for 9 months!

And NOW I can see why. She is facing opposition as everyone does, but she herself came out and said, “every time I try to do something good I have so many obstacles” We talked about how it is exactly because she is doing something GOOD and RIGHT and so Satan is trying to stop her from it. She recognizes it and is planning on the 25th! She unfortunately couldn’t get out of her contract to work on Sundays and then got called into work so she couldn’t meet on Friday when we needed to teach her the Word of Wisdom… SO we are teaching her tonight and praying she won’t have any real problems with it or we will have to change her date. It really was a miracle though and I am so excited for her!

 

President Boswell interviewed us all this week wherein he asked me “what does your Heavenly Father think about you?” as his second question. It somewhat caught me off gaurd. I felt like I needed to think about this before I answered. Now the rest of the week I have been reflecting on this question. What does my Father in Heaven think about me? Of who I have become and who I am becoming? Am I who He wants me to be? Am I doing everything He wants me to do? What does He think about my innermost ‘maddie’ self that maybe no one has ever really known or gotten too?  What does He want to change me into? What does He want me to develop? It has made me realize even more how much I have to completely GIVE myself over to Him so that he CAN make me into what He wants me to be. What does my Heavenly Father think of me? Well for one thing I know He loves me. And I KNOW He loves and adores every single person you will ever see. Isn’t that amazing? I wish I had the capacity to understand that kind of love. I have had some glimpses of it in my lifetime. Especially on my mission, but I am thankful for my knowledge of my Father in Heaven and for His love for me and for everyone around me.

 

We did another finding activity in the park this Saturday. We first sang some hymns and as people came by one of us would go and talk to them. We had the attention of a lot of kids who were running around on roller-blades and bikes. Then we stopped and drew a big maze and the kids all came running. They LOVED it and all were running around trying to get to the middle. All the parents were around watching and we were able to invite a whole bunch of families to the FHE activity! Oh I LOVE contacting in the park!

 

Last night we got invited to go over the Birkenfeldi family. They are absolutely amazing! The mother is from hungry and is 30 I think. She served a mission in Finland and her husband is Latvian and is in the Dristric presidency of Latvia. He served in Russia. They have 2 kids Jazeps is 3/4 and Adams is 2. It was Adam’s  birthday and so we went over for dinner and cake. They are such a sweet, strong, and amazing family and I just wanted to stay there for hours and soak up their love and see them interact with each other. Jazeps is my best friend at church and every week comes up to me and says, “What’s in your purse?” And then I give him candy. haha It really is always special when we can spend some time with a family. Jazeps reminds me of Hudbud so it was the best to be with them for a bit.

 

Well I think that’s about it for the week. I love you all so much and hope you have an amazing day!

 

-Masa

the 2nd floor is where we meet for Church

the 2nd floor is where we meet for Church

Goodbye FHE with Davis family

Goodbye FHE with Davis family

hahah so funny! Missionaries also wear ties!

hahah so funny! Missionaries also wear ties!

View of Riga

View of Riga

view from bus window

view from bus window

Sister Peterson and I studying after church

Sister Peterson and I studying after church

Adams Bday

Adams Bday

Leave a Reply

Send me a Letter:

Baltic Mission Sister Madison Gallacher Cesu iela 31-2K2 Riga LV -1012 Latvia, Europe For dearelders.com and pouch mail: Baltic Mission POB 30150 Salt Lake City 84130-0150

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

