Week 63: Investigators

Happy Mothers Day!!

Oh boy! It was so wonderful to talk to you all and see your wonderful, beautiful, smiling faces! I miss you all so much so it was so good to talk to you and hear about your life and to just SEE YOU! Thank you for all taking to time to collaborate on many different technological devices (the technology world is amazing!) to chat with meeee!! I LOVE YOU ALL!

Ok so I will update you on this week:

First things first: INVESTIGATORS!

So remember how I wrote about 2 weeks ago how all of our Investigators had kind of fallen off the charts? Well it made me realize something. I have had investigators for practically my whole mission. I don’t know if I’ve ever had a week with absolutely NO investigators. Yeah, maybe that meant I had only one flakey one, but really for the most part, I have been so blessed to always have people to teach. Then right as I was feeling that I was loosing all of my investigators, they came pouring in. First Inara, then Gunars, then Oskars….. (Inara from the area book, Gunars I contacted on the bus, and Oskars was a referral) And of course we still have Eriks. I feel so much gratitude that Heavenly Father has always kept His promise that He will put prepared people in our way.

Also Josh Cutler wrote me an e-mail last week saying that when his investigators would tell him that they didn’t want to meet again and his heart broke was when he felt most like Heavenly Father because he felt so much love for them and desire for their salvation. I really liked that thought and agree whole heartedly. Those moments when I feel true Charity, true love for these people that just rejected it, is when I feel the kind of love closest to Heavenly Fathers. (at least until I have children of my own) It’s such pure love because in those moments you are not receiving any love back. It is the most unselfish kind of love. It is the love God feels for all of His children even when they reject Him. He wants them to accept that love so badly that it just hurts so much. That is also the kind of pain you feel in those moments. Since Josh wrote me about that I have looked at those moments differently. They are an opportunity to really FEEL the kind of love God has for us and how He feels in moments when we reject Him. (thanks Joshy!) I am grateful, oh so grateful, that I have always had the chance to have people to teach about the gospel. And I am also grateful for the times when I have been able to feel this Love and heart wrenching pain. They are feelings I can never forget.

So Eriks: Well still working with him slowly. His Aunt has full legal rights over him so we don’t have anywhere to go other than to pray that her heart will be softened.

Inara: her date was change to June 7. (her birthday!) She is super busy and cancels lessons a lot. We are going to have to lay it down and let her know that if she does not meet with us 2-3 times a week she won’t be ready by June 7th. I really hope she can get the time planned out because she really does want too be baptized…. she just can’t seem to ever grasp the urgency of meeting although we explain it a lot.

Gunars: well we had a horrible lesson with him with some members. They tore him apart and well…were really rude to him. We hope he didn’t take offense. We tried to fix it before the end of the lesson, but I know that Gunars felt attacked and, well hurt. He at least knows now that all that he needs to do is to read and pray about the Book of Mormon. That’s the main thing. We will meet with him again this week if he will. Sometimes lessons with members can go really wrong; Oops.

Oskars: is doing awesome. He went up to Estonia with the youth this weekend for a conference! He’s being fellowshipped beautifully!

Our less actives are at all different levels. Some are finally coming to church, while others are struggling with testimonies again. Once you know truth you have to just HOLD on to it and not let Satan make you doubt. I just wish people could take a step back and see all of the blessings the gospel as brought to them and then keep their testimony burning bright. I know how much it will bless them and I myself have seen the difference in them when they live it and believe it and when they don’t. Wish I could just videotape them and then show them later. haha that would be easier.

Well we had exchanges this week and I got to go and serve in Jelgava for a day with sister Scott. We had lots of fun and had lots of contacting time, which was fun because I honestly haven’t had too much time for just hours of straight up contacting in a while. I’ve been super busy! It’s amazing how much nicer the people on the street are there. haha. I get yelled at all the time in Riga and honestly most people don’t stop and listen to me here. But I feel like everyone stopped in Jelgava and they were all so nice and talked to us for a while and listened. Riga is just a busy place and people are less patient I guess. I remember when I went back to Liepaja I felt the same way. People there were just so nice. But I have sure toughened up because the yelling doesn’t get to me anymore. I have been called “empty in the head” and “endlessly dumb” too many times. haha But the exchange was fun. Oh and funny tidbit. I bet I am the ONLY missionary EVER to have run through the streets of Jelgava barefoot. opps. We were going to the train station to switch back companions and there was a miscommunication on times. We thought the train arrived at 3:30 and that we were leaving at 3:45. So we had just left the house at like 3:20 and it takes about 20 minutes to walk to the train station from their APT. Sister Kerr called and said where are you? At like 3:20 and we told her that was had just left. She said, “your train leaves in 10 min!!!” Soo…. well…. we didn’t have any other choice but to… RUN! So with my bag full of all my books (scriptures, PMG, notebook, language study stuff) and overnighter things, we started booking it down the streets of Jelgava. Then I had my flats on and they are a wee but too big so they kept falling off. So I said, well here goes and I ripped them off and ran. It was sure a funny sight to see. We ran up to the train station out of breath just as our train was pulling away…. all for nothing. hahah. We were able to take a van back so it all worked out, but it was funny.

We had to say goodbye to the Millets this week! They go home on Wednesday. It was so sad and I am going to miss them so much! They are such an amazing couple and they just exude the spirit and love and light. They wanted to meet with Vasis one last time before they met so we had a meeting. Elder Millet taught him about the apostasy and about authority and the joy he will feel after baptism. Vasis knows it. He knows it. I don’t know why he won’t accept it. But Elder Millet was so bold and told Vasis that they would love for him to be baptized that afternoon, but they know that he will get baptized one day when he is ready and Vasis just smiled. Vasis bought them a little book on Latvia to say goodbye and gave them a cute goodbye speech about how they had so much light and that they were in his life forever to stay in his memory.

The Millets spoke on Sunday and made everyone in the whole branch cry with their sweet stories and testimonies (in Latvian!! Way to go!) Vasis shed a tear when he said goodbye to them. As did I. The Baltic mission will surely miss the Millets! (Brittlyn tell them HI on Sunday! and Also Elder Bland’s (my current District Leader) parents are going to hear their homecoming talk and I told elder Bland to tell his parents to come find you! haha small world)

Ok, well I must be off. I love you all so much!! Have a wonderful day and be safe and enjoy the Lake for me this summer in your hot weather! I love you and miss you so much!

-Masa Galagera

Riga

Riga

Locks on bridges for engagment

Locks on bridges for engagment

Julia and me at Family Home Evening

Julia and me at Family Home Evening

Sister Petersen and Me

Sister Petersen and Me

zone with Zaiga Kalnina haah

zone with Zaiga Kalnina haah

silly missionaries

silly missionaries

Sister Scott

Sister Scott

Spring is here

Spring is here

Saying Goodbye to Sister Millet

Saying Goodbye to Sister Millet

Vasis is Back

Vasis is Back

The Millets

The Millets

Riga City

Riga City

At the bus stop in Riga

At the bus stop in Riga

Leave a Reply

Send me a Letter:

Baltic Mission Sister Madison Gallacher Cesu iela 31-2K2 Riga LV -1012 Latvia, Europe For dearelders.com and pouch mail: Baltic Mission POB 30150 Salt Lake City 84130-0150

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

