Week 71: Grateful for the Holy Ghost

Sveiki!

HAPPY 4th of JULY!! and HAPPY BIRTHDAY KENNA!!!

Oh Latvia! How I love you so. I feel that my heart cannot even contain the love that I have for these people, this culture, and this country. I just LOVE it!!
I officially want to have all of my lessons on the shore of the Baltic sea… Not possible but it was just heavenly!! (Shout out to Cami and Matt who went swimming in the Baltic sea!!! We’re so close!!!)
Let’s see…. We were really busy this week with 2 exchanges. Some of the sisters are having a wee bit of a hard time so I had a lot of long talks and teaching moments. Things are going to get switched around at transfer times. Sister Woodland and I don’t want to get split apart!! But we are both ready to go where the Lord wants us to go. I know some of the other sisters are getting switched (since President Boswell called me for my input because I know a little more from exchanges. It’s all these young new sisters haha) but I am not sure if one of us is leaving our little Liepaja. We’ll see tomorrow!!
We had zone time where I got to teach about strengthening the relationships between our investigators and the members. I chose the topic and was really excited about it. Then we headed to Riga for exchanges. I got to serve in Imanta for a day and go to a HUGE park with huge Russian monument for a finding activity. We drew the plan of salvation on the ground and stopped people to teach them about it. I looooove teaching people with chalk drawings!! It’s so much more animated and fun to draw and have people come over to see what we’re drawing and to point to the different pictures.
We had a “pancake activity” on Friday with 7 investigators! We made lots of crepes and we all chatted and had a blast. We are really trying to host a lot more activities so that the members can strengthen their relationships and also be able to invite their friends. We are having a talent show this Friday and it is going to be the absolute BEST!! Can’t wait!
We unfortunately had a ton of people not show up to lessons, but never fear we have lots of potential investigators to continue to keep calling. Church was the BEST! We had the most people I have even seen at church and we had 7 investigators!! Along with the Boswells who came down for the day.
Speaking of investigators…
Daina: Oh boy, so many problems and just too much drama with this situation. Cheating husband, back biting friends, disobedient children, no money…. I just wish I could fix it all and wrap that family up in love. But Daina needs to make a decision to either live with a disloyal, mean, man who won’t get married or leave him and take a step in the dark, trusting God. It is going to be so hard and I cringe at the thought of what is going to happen either way, but is she leaves she can finally get baptized and that’s what we know God wants her to do.
Edgars: is our best friend!! He comes to all of the activities and church and prays like he’s been a member for years! He’s so awesome, but still not completely open to the idea of actually “meeting” and ” learning” about it all.  We have a meeting set up on Saturday (first one!—-He’s finally making the step!)
Zeltite: she has not been answering, but she came to church and seemed really happy. We have a lesson (cross your fingers) on Wednesday.
I have been having a sweet experience these past couple weeks. There is a less active here who we met with a couple weeks back. She went on and on about how she doesn’t like church because of all of the problems with the members and how they aren’t worthy to come but they do… (I don’t know why she thinks like that!) And how she doesn’t need church to feel the spirit, she feels it stronger at home and  on and on and on….. She basically came up with excuses about why she doesn’t like church/the book of Mormon… etc… but then still believes this church is true… or I guess the gospel is but not the actual branch here. So we taught her about church and the importance of it and she said she didn’t want to come just because we asked her too. Then I said, “Lidija. We are representatives of Jesus Christ and HE is asking you to go to church. Not us. God wants you to go and HE is asking and telling you to go.” After the lesson my wonderful companion told me that I could have said that stronger…. Even though I thought I was pretty strong. ( I am 100% honest when I say that I am grateful for her honesty and for her advice) So needless to say, I felt horrible because I thought that I didn’t do a good enough job. BUT Lidija was at church the next Sunday and had the BEST time ever! Then the next week she came again! And looooved it!! She came up to me and said ” I am here thanks to you!” and hugged and kissed me. It was one of the sweetest moments and I was so thankful for the tender mercy that God gave me to see that I am doing something good.
I love these members! Oh so much!! I love my investigators! I love my Savior Jesus Christ. I am so grateful for him. I am so thankful for the opportunity I have to “cry repentance” and to see such beauty enter into people’s lives. I know that God really is our Father. I feel as though on my mission I have really learned about my relationship with Him and developed an even stronger one. It is never just me. It is always my Heavenly Father and me together. He is always guiding me and helping me to succeed. I am so grateful for the Holy Ghost. We have such a funny relationship. It speaks to me so much it’s hard to be able to respond to every prompting. Sometimes I just giggle because of the things he tells me. The other day I had my socks on and I was going to get water and he said, “take off your socks because they will get wet, and I knwo how much you hate when you step in water with socks on” I thought, “oh it’ll be fine I will just watch where I am stepping” I did and I got water and everything was fine.. until I turned around.. and yes I stepped in a puddle of water. I giggled out loud and just said to my companion, “I don’t know why I ever ignore these things..” The spirit even warns me of silly things. I am so grateful for his guidance. The guidance in missionary work. I could not do this without him, that’s for sure. HE is the teacher. HE is the contact-er. HE is the trainer. HE is the one who knows what to do and I rely on him wholeheartedly. I know that this is the church of Jesus Christ and I KNOW that the Book of Mormon is true with out a single doubt in my mind. I LOVE that book. And I LOVE this gospel.
 I LOVE YOU ALL SO MUCH!!! Have a wonderful, beautiful, sun-filled week!!
-masa galagera
Me and sister Nelson

Me and sister Nelson

Sister woodland and me

Sister woodland and me

So many bus rides back and forth

So many bus rides back and forth

Liepaja district

Liepaja district

Ligo Party

Ligo Party

Making the wreaths

Making the wreaths

Kristine and Me

Kristine and Me

our finished wreaths

our finished wreaths

dancing Latvian style

dancing Latvian style

Edgars our investigator and me

Edgars our investigator and me

Working at the farm in the country

Working at the farm in the country

A pretty country road

A pretty country road

Liepaja in the evening

Liepaja in the evening

Fun statutes in a park

Fun statutes in a park

pretty river in Kuldiga

pretty river in Kuldiga

pretty bridge in Kuldiga

pretty bridge in Kuldiga

Vasis our guide in Kuldiga

Vasis our guide in Kuldiga

Pretty home

Pretty home

I have an obsession with all the beautiful doors here

I have an obsession with all the beautiful doors here

Sister woodland and me

Sister woodland and me

Leave a Reply

Send me a Letter:

Baltic Mission Sister Madison Gallacher Cesu iela 31-2K2 Riga LV -1012 Latvia, Europe For dearelders.com and pouch mail: Baltic Mission POB 30150 Salt Lake City 84130-0150

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

