Week 74: Dievs ir Brīnumu Dievs

Sorry I am a day late! We had our P-day switched to Tuesday because we helped the Branch President move all day yesterday! I sure have some sore muscles! It was fun and man, they had a lot of stuff! I am going to have some strong arms after this! 🙂 I am so happy for them to have this new apartment! They were living in a one bedroom apartment with 3 kids and they just didn’t have enough room to live. Now they were able to get a nice apartment that is a lot larger!  Dievs ir Brīnumu Dievs… or in other words…God is a God of Miracles! They had been praying for a new apt for a very long time.

I had exchanges with my Sister Nelson! I just love that girl so much! I cannot WAIT for you all to meet her! You are going to adore her as much as I do!

This week I have learned just how involved the Lord really is in this work. It is incredible.  I just kept thinking of Jacob 5 all week. The Lord labors with us in his Vineyard.

Here are some examples of his dealings with our little vineyard this week:

Meldra. SHE IS AMAZING!!!! Oh, I just love her so much. She is what you would call a PERFECT investigator. No joke. She reads the Book of Mormon, she comes to every lesson, she keeps her commitments, she comes to church, she came to a baptism, and she is so sweet! It’s been amazing!

SO, to start out, we had a lesson with her last Monday. We were planning on teaching the gospel of Jesus Christ, but during our personal studies we both just really struggled to know what to do and say. I have taught that lesson many times, but I felt like I couldn’t retain any of the information to teach! Nothing was coming. So then in companion study we both expressed how it just didn’t come. So we took that as an answer that it wasn’t the right lesson. We knew she needed to be warned of opposition and we also knew she would have just read 1 Nephi 8. So we decided to talk about the tree of life. The lesson was amazing! God guided us through the whole thing. We talked all about our goal to return to God and how along the way there are distractions (OPPOSITION) and what we need to do to stay on the right path. It was lovely.

One morning we went on a run to the sea. I had a thought to bring a plastic bag and fill it full of sand (Liepaja has the whitest, finest sand in the world) I didn’t know why, but I just did it and brought a bag home. Well I found out later when we were planning for our next lesson with her why we needed it.

We were planning on teaching the gospel of Jesus Christ and we were both sitting there thinking. Then we expressed how we wanted to do some sort of analogy. I said that I just kept seeing sand and water and I didn’t know why. So we kept on thinking. Then it just flowed into my mind! So simple!! This is what we did:

We told her to look at her hands. Her hands represent her works, her actions, and what she does everyday. We took out a bowl and the sand and told her to hold her hands over the bowl. We poured the sand over her hands and then had her rub it all over her hands and explained how we all make mistakes and how the sand represents our sins. To teach repentance we had her take a handful of sand and then one by one as she did the steps she opened a finger and the sand all fell out. BUT her hand was still dirty. She still had sand on her hands. The only way to be completely clean is through baptism. We had her put her hands over a new bowl and we poured water all over her hands as she washed them. It really was a beautiful experience and the spirit was so strong.

And here is just the cherry on top. We had a lesson with Kristine Atala (got baptized last year when I was here) and at the end I asked her if there was anything we could do to help her and she said, “well can I help with any lessons?” So she came to help with Meldra and it was amazing and she did an amazing job!

Then last but not least, we had another lesson and we weren’t able to get a member. (We had called a couple people and it was going to only be a 20 min lesson so we figured it was ok that we didn’t’ have one). Well the Lord had a different plan. We started our lesson and then Santa Diķe walked by and waved. I waved at her to come in and asked what she was doing. She said, “cleaning the church” (cleaning starts at 2 and it was 12:30) so I asked if she wanted to stay in the lesson and she nodded with a huge smile on her face. She basically taught the whole thing about the Holy Ghost and baptism and it was amazing! After, I thanked her and said it was just what Meldra needed. Santa said that she was at home and had the thought to go to the church early for cleaning (2 hours early mind you) and so she listened and came and knew that was why she needed to come. AMAZING!!! Oh I love seeing the hand of the Lord in our work here. He really cares so much about every single one of his children.

I have been thinking a lot about the Love of God this week.
Mosiah 4:9  “Believe in God; believe that He is, and that He created all things both in heaven and in earth believe that He has all wisdom, and all power, both in heaven and in earth; believe that man doeth not comprehend all the things which the Lord can comprehend”

Think about that. This scripture explains so well the magnitude of God. He is almighty. He is all knowing. He is all powerful. And yet, He loves you. He loves me. He is this beautiful, perfect powerful God, and yet, He cares about you and the hard day that you had today. He cares about your struggles and trials no matter how small and insignificant they are.

Romans 8:16 “the spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit that we are the children of God” I know that God is our Father. I know that He loves all of us so much.  I have felt and seen His love manifested so much throughout my mission. I am so grateful for the love He has allowed me to feel for these people.

Romans 8: 38-39 ” For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the Love of God, which is in Christ our Lord.”

Well I love you all and in honor of Grandma Gallacher: “consider yourself hugged and kissed by me!”  🙂

Have the best week ever!

-Sister Gallacher

Meldra and Me

Meldra and Me

1. We got caught in a HUGE rainstorm!! We laughed and danced all the way home! (yes, we didn't have umbrellas. I have had 3 on my mission and they all break from the wind so I won't buy another. haha)

1. We got caught in a HUGE rainstorm!! We laughed and danced all the way home! (yes, we didn’t have umbrellas. I have had 3 on my mission and they all break from the wind so I won’t buy another. haha)

 

One response to “Week 74: Dievs ir Brīnumu Dievs

  1. Janna Hargadon

    Beautiful message… Beautiful women

Leave a Reply

Send me a Letter:

Baltic Mission Sister Madison Gallacher Cesu iela 31-2K2 Riga LV -1012 Latvia, Europe For dearelders.com and pouch mail: Baltic Mission POB 30150 Salt Lake City 84130-0150

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

